img_7667

The Long Walk, Windsor Castle.

“Imagination cannot picture an approach of greater magnificence, produced by circumstances which ages alone could bring about, and of which ages alone can produce a rival.

2016  has been good to me. As a matter of fact, it has actually been very good to me. The song that inspired this song (yes there is always a song & moment) that inspires these blogs.  The song that has inspired this is Ray Noble’s The Very Thought of You. Eighty years later, it’s still a hot idea. The piece is certainly prominent in The Great American Songbook and sparkles in the Grammy Hall of Fame. The Very Thought of You has generated a huge pile of recordings — in every conceivable format and compilation, arranged and re-arranged by every generation’s superstar pop recording artists. The tune occurs no less than four times in the soundtrack of Casablanca, and these days, there’s nothing subliminal about it. Lol…

The musical preamble is of course to set the tone and I am just a sucker for classic Jazz. So let me tell you what was on my list start of the year and how I have done thus far in terms of completing my annual to do list.

1. Read and Memorize all the works of Shakespeare. Be able to quote key verses at will, especially during faculty meetings, awkward dinner parties, and while buying groceries at Whole Foods. ( So when the Portland native cashier says , “How’s YOUR day going?” I’ll reply “We know what we are, but know not what we may be.” Hmm, maybe “ It is not in the stars to hold our destiny but in ourselves” is more appropriate….)

2. Memorize every song, tune or piece of music written between 1600 and 2016. (Actually, I’m going to make it easier on myself and just start at composers of the Baroque Era. I mean, If I’m leaving out Josquin De Prez, then I might as well leave out Constantijn Huygens, I mean, let’s be real, people!) – Like for real…

What? You Don’t know any Constantijn Huygens tunes? Gosh… Okay .. We will stick to underground hiphop and stuff…
3. OK, I’ll admit that last year, one of my resolutions was to solve the Israeli- Palestinian conflict And I’ll admit that I fell short on that one. Hey, I’m only human! You can’t win them all! I mean, clearly, the middle east is moving in a positive direction, and things are getting better, of course. With a little patience, and the power of positive thinking, I think that by this time next year, everything in the Middle East is going to be A-OK!

I came close to two of my to do lists for the year and fell narrowly short on one. My amazing 2016…

 

 

