Tags

, , , , , ,


I normally never really know what I want to write about until I start writing and so is the case with this blog. The name of the blog is in connection to one evening that involved pounding of grape and absolutely intriguing conversation. Those are the best… Anyway, it was during one such evening that I looked at the person who was going on about the stars and casually sipping the Sauvignon Blanc *pounding grape* that I had a moment. I tend to have a lot of such “moments” when  pounding grape is involved….

One has dark phases in life that almost break you just enough to make sure when you are finally on the mend, you can take a similar calamity and shake it off.  Life really isn’t that complicated if you think about it. I read somewhere that,

if you really want to mess up your 20’s then you should think you are meant to have everything in check.

This friend of mine had not a single care in the world and approached life with the zeal of a 3 year old. It was refreshing and enlightening to see someone in my age group appear at ease.

Eventually with time you realise that life really is not as complicated as it appears to be early on. A few months ago, I was at soiree and was meant to be socializing with everyone and found myself peering at the ocean and sensationally zoning the *eff* out. Life really is meant to be easy and with a lot of planning we kind of miss the whole concept behind living. Now do not get me wrong, I am not saying quit your job and start inhaling certain worldly herbs. All I am saying is life should never be complicated or stressful. Emancipate yourself from mental and emotional slavery. Live life and just smile.

Something very beautiful happens to people when their world has fallen apart: a humility, a nobility, a higher intelligence emerges at just the point when our knees hit the floor. It’s not as bad as it seems at the time friend. Do not let the world mistreat you.

Orion’s belt….

Shimmy Beach Club, Capetown

Shimmy Beach Club, Capetown

May I just add that the last time I wrote was a fair bit ago. A combination of writer’s block and just lacking any inspiration worth writing about. My burst of inspiration comes from a book by Charles Dickens called “A Tale of Two Cities” … This particular passage is the most famous and really is just amazing. So many quotables … Enjoy…

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity, it was the season of Light, it was the season of Darkness, it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair, we had everything before us, we had nothing before us, we were all going direct to heaven, we were all going direct the other way – in short, the period was so far like the present period, that some of its noisiest authorities insisted on its being received, for good or for evil, in the superlative degree of comparison only.

