Tags

, , , , , ,


Uncharted territory is very daunting but sadly that is what we are forced to navigate as we deal with this little mystery called the future. We hope for a better day tomorrow, better couple of months and generally try attain something unknown that we believe is better than the  status-quo. Terra Incognito + Hope Theory.

This is not exactly a certified Oxford University theory but something I randomly put together in my noodle when I was watching “The Great Gatsby”.. Yes, “The Great fxcking Gatsby” … “The majestic grandeur of the silver screen..Ah Chinema!!!!!*Lu voice*

Now stay with me while I put everything together. In the movie, we have the role of Nick Carraway played by Toby Maguire. This gentleman narrates the movie and ultimately sums up what the “Terra Incognito + Hope” theory is.

gatsby2

In life, we all aspire to better ourselves and are always trying to appraise our advancements every quarter, half-year or annually. This indeed is a good way to go about your life but one thing the movie does point out is that in our never-ending search to better ourselves, when do we know when we are pushing too hard that we lose our way and end up with nothing. Without ruining the movie for those that haven’t watched it or  read the original book that it’s based on (which is totally different BEEE TEE DUB).

On a personal front, I have always lived life trying to better myself and in the process losing sight of what it is I am trying to achieve in the first place. All I really know is that I am genetically predisposed to trying to change myself and create a better and more advanced model. When does one know when they have achieved that? Is there ever a moment when you realize you are getting close? Why do we do it anyway? The shocking answer is I don’t know.

Well, in retrospect when we critically analyse situations we realise we could have handled them better. There is always a better way to do things once they have come and gone. You cannot bring back the past and we should not even try to. All we can do really is attempt to ready ourselves for a similar situation and that is only achieved by making alterations to the approach you took last time it happened. In anticipation of such events we hope that we deal with them better than last time, we hope that they are better situations than last time , we hope that we are a better version of ourselves than last time, we hope that this better version somehow makes amends for the shortcomings of the earlier version.

Nick Carraway: You can’t repeat the past. 
Jay Gatsby: Can’t repeat the past? 
Nick Carraway: No… 
Jay Gatsby: Why, of course you can… of course you can Old Sport

Nick Carraway: In my younger and more vulnerable years, my father gave me some advice that I’ve been turning over in my mind ever since. “Whenever you feel like criticizing anyone,” he told me, “just remember that all the people in this world haven’t had the advantages you’ve had.” While reserving judgments is a matter of infinite hope, I’ve come to admit that my tolerance of human behavior has its limits. Gatsby, the man who gives his name to this story, represented everything for which I have an unaffected scorn. And yet there was something gorgeous about him. Some heightened sensitivity to the promises of life, a romantic readiness such as I’ve never found in any other person and which it is not likely I’ll ever find again. 

My parting words are that we all want to better ourselves and that is admirable and all but let us not lose ourselves in the grandeur of the quest as we pioneer through uncharted territory. The very inspiration that fuels that need to better ourselves is the balancing factor that humanity needs to continue. Hope!!!

Nick Carraway:Gatsby believed in the green light, the orgiastic future that year by year recedes before us. It eluded us then, but that’s no matter… tomorrow we will run faster, stretch out our arms farther…. And one fine morning.. So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past. 

tumblr_mfb6t0RWVr1qhwth9o1_1280

Over N’ Out

