Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,


I am on a roll with these classic romantic comedies … This particular entry  may have a few references from the movie but will ultimately focus on male and female friendships. “The platonic relationship” … This topic was inspired by a fellow blogger who planted the idea in my noodle….

Can men and women really just be friends only? Can we go against the laws of attraction and cohabitate? I have heard of a lot of relationships that fall prey to the horrible phenomenon of “the guy friend” or “the female friend”… We are just really close and he has known me for a long time. Well, the truth is nobody in their right mind will ever be comfortable with their partner having a close friend of the opposite sex.

A little article I read in the New Yorker about a certain young man who befriends this gorgeous young lady at his workplace. They maintain a healthy work relationship until he starts to notice little things like her exceedingly long hair and how she smirks. The story unfolds and he finds himself absolutely smitten by her charm and wit.

For as long as I can remember I have always asked people around me this question. Can guys and girls be friends ONLY?? Can we?

Harry met Sally and struggled to keep a platonic relationship out of fear of ruining their great friendship.

Harry: You realize of course that we could never be friends.

Sally: Why not?

Harry: What I’m saying is — and this is not a come-on in any way, shape or form — is that men and women can’t be friends because the sex part always gets in the way.

Sally: That’s not true. I have a number of men friends and there is no sex involved.

Harry: No you don’t.

Sally: Yes I do.

Harry: No you don’t.

Sally: Yes I do.

Harry: You only think you do.

Sally: You say I’m having sex with these men without my knowledge?

Harry: No, what I’m saying is they all want to have sex with you.

Sally: They do not.

Harry: Do too.

Sally: They do not.

Harry: Do too.

Sally: How do you know?

Harry: Because no man can be friends with a woman that he finds attractive. He always wants to have sex with her.

Sally: So you’re saying that a man can be friends with a woman he finds unattractive?

Harry: No, you pretty much want to nail ’em too.

Sally: What if they don’t want to have sex with you?

Harry: Doesn’t matter because the sex thing is already out there so the friendship is ultimately doomed and that is the end of the story.

Sally: Well, I guess we’re not going to be friends then.

Harry: Guess not.

Sally: That’s too bad. You were the only person that I knew in New York.

Without spoiling it for those that have not watched the movie I shall stop here..

So dear friends of the blogsphere, I pose the same question to all of you…. Is there such a thing as a platonic relationship?

R.I.P Norah Ephron-  screenwritter of When Harry met Sally

