Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,


The Alchemist is one of the greatest books I have had the pleasure of reading. People may wonder, is it overrated? My answer is no. Truth be told there are several self-help, inspirational and motivational books out there but most do not have the effect The Alchemist has had on millions of people all over the world. This book has a created a life of its own with its increasing impact. The difference with this book is that it translates what we experience through a great work of fiction.

In the form of a simple yet enthralling story The Alchemist is a parable translating the meaning of life and the key to the journey of life. An internal testament of the power of dreams and achieving these dreams by listening to our hearts and challenging our deepest fears. The story is of a young shepherd, Santiago, who travels from his home in Spain to Africa in search of a hidden treasure. The author shares the boys experiences along his journey and in each obstacle or encounter there is a positive message received. His journey taught him how to follow omens, signs and a universal language of the soul which we know but fail to understand. After he meets the alchemist, everything is put in to perspective for Santiago and the alchemist urges him to complete his hearts desires.

I truly loved the book, I enjoyed every second I read it. I felt as though as I turned each page I learned something new about Santiago and myself. With each obstacle he faced I interpreted my own life, my own dreams, my own fears. The spiritual message I received from the story was very inspiring and motivational. We are born to choose our own destinies but are unable to because we are afraid to fail. What people think of us becomes more important than our dreams. After I finished reading I felt the message within me. Within my own heart as if I had to share it. I had to share the joy I felt. You begin to realise that the world has a lot more to offer your dreams than you realise or previously believed as a child. You pay attention to the sound of your heart and begin to open your eyes to a wider possibility that you are able to follow your path no matter what tests may face you ahead. Your dream is now worth it. The closer you get to your dream the more difficult things may become. In pursuit of a dream we are constantly subjected to tests of persistence and courage. It may take you across the world and bring you back to where you began but it does that with the hope that along the way you learn, you grow and appreciate what life has to offer you. Everything you need or want is waiting for you, take chances and follow your own personal path.

My favourite quotes from the book :

“When you really want something, the whole universe conspires in helping you achieve it”

“If someone isn’t what other want them to be, others become angry. Everyone seems to have a clear idea of how other people should lead their lives, but none about his or her own”

“The world’s greatest lie is that at a certain point in our lives, we lose control of what happens to us, and our lives become controlled by fate”

“Dreams are the Language of God, he speaks to us through our dreams”

“There is nothing to hold us back but ourselves”

“We see the world in terms of what we’d like to happen not what actually does”

“Every blessing ignored becomes a curse”

 “Sometimes there is just no way to hold back the river”

“Making a decision is only the beginning of things. When someone makes a decision, he is really diving into a strong current that will carry him places he never dreamed of when he first made the decision’

“intuition is a sudden immersion of the soul into the universal current of life”

Dimples

